Random Ramblings

Getting Back On Track

Posted on: April 5, 2008

“It seems no one can help me now
I’m in too deep, there’s no way out
This time I have really led myself astray”
 
Lyrics from Runaway Train by Soul Asylum

Have you ever felt this way before?  Boy I could tell some stories on this one.  It is never fun to feel as if you have lost control of your life and gone into an unknown area and do not know how to get back out.  However those wrong turns can eventually lead you somewhere wonderful, as long as you take the time to learn from them.  Of course sometimes it is really hard to know what the lesson is when you are stuck in those far off places, especially when you are really concentrating on getting back on your track. 

I have always been drawn to this particular song from Soul Asylum, I’m not sure why.  However throughout different periods of my life I have found different meanings within the song.  For instance when I was young, maybe junior high age, I was a little saddened by the song, especially when I saw the video which focused on runaways in the U.S.  The video was sad and made me think about how unhappy the parents of the lost children were and how sad the kids who were taken from their parents were.  All in all it was a pretty depressing video.

Once I was older, the meaning behind the song hit closer to home through the lyrics rather than the video.  I had my issues, demons perhaps that I was dealing with and every time I stumbled upon that song it just made me think that my life was so terrible.  It made me think that I wouldn’t be able to get myself back on track, that I had led myself to an unthinkable place and had no way to go back.  Thanks to various means, I was able to overcome the demons and get myself back on a track. 

I heard this song for the first time in a long time this week and it started me thinking, which started me blogging tonight!  Where I used to be sent in a downward spiral just by hearing that song, I now listen to it and can say to myself that if I had once been a runaway train, I am now back on a track.  Am I on the same track as I was before, probably not but that is ok, you have to learn to deal with new tracks sometimes as your destiny may be down a different path. 

What ever paths my destiny lay on, I now gladly chug on through.  I know that some days may be filled with difficult terrain to go through but ultimately I will get where I am supposed to be.  Will it be easy?  Will it be fun?  I can honestly say, it probably won’t be fun or easy sometimes, but I will learn and grow from it.  Hopefully whatever path people do go on, no matter how many times they run off-track, they will also get to where they are going to.  Hopefully they will be wise once they get there and be able to use their knowledge they gained along the way.

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,307 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
