Random Ramblings

White Hair and Black Nails

Posted on: April 13, 2008

Well it has been a very busy week and boy am I glad it’s over!  Not that I didn’t enjoy myself immensely, but good things must come to an end.  I have just completed work on the Kirk Players production of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs by Jesse Braham White.  I played the Peddlar Woman and it was so much fun!

The Kirk Players are a community theater group that put on 4 shows a year, one being a children’s show.  They have been putting on shows for 42 years now and have no desire to stop anytime soon!  The shows we do are always wonderful!  I wouldn’t give up working on these shows for anything.

This weekend was nothing short of spectacular!  The fairy tale was not the typical version most people know by Walt Disney.  This tale was based on the Brother’s Grimm story and was slightly different.  The story centered on Snow White and her step-mother Queen Brangomar, rather than the Seven Dwarfs.  The conflict in the story was truly about good versus evil.  This version had not only a queen but a witch as well, which is different from the movie in which the queen was the witch. 

Production week started 8 days ago when we moved into the theater and began building the set, it seems like it was only yesterday when I was being asked to play the part of the peddlar woman.  This was actually not a different part in the show, but rather was who the Queen was supposed to turn in to and kill Snow White.  However a 2 second costume change would be rather difficult and so an extra part was added!  Who doesn’t like playing a cackling evil queen in disguise?  I knew it was going to be fun and it was a blast!

Alas, the show is over, the set has been taken down, the parties are over and it’s back to a normal schedule again.  No having to be at rehearsal every night, no more painted black fingernails, no more of that nasty white hairspray in my hair, that took 3 washes to get out and no more icky make-up to make me look old!  Would I do it again?  Of course, that’s what I love about theater!  I love taking on a new character and making it my own. 

Now if only everyone knew about the forbidden things to do backstage to avoid cursing the show!!!

4 Responses to "White Hair and Black Nails"

Going to the theater.Now that’s something my wife and I can do. We haven’t been to a play in years. Thanks for the reminder.

Mark,

You are welcome! It is always fun to immerse yourself in the world of a play! Hopefully there is a community theater you can support!

Jenny,

The play was a lot of fun and you were great! Black nails and all!

Thanks Wendi! Now if only there was a play for you and I to be in together!

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,306 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
