Random Ramblings

Time To Get Moving… Again!

Posted on: April 21, 2008

It’s a little hard to believe today, but I am actually excited about going to the gym.  I joined at the end of last year in effort to lose weight, which I am in need of doing for health reasons.  I started off with gusto and was quite proud of my efforts, despite my sometimes lack of motivation!  I’d even manage to make myself go on the days I was tired or could come up with some other excuse not to go.  I kept up with it for 3 months, going at least 3 times a week, sometimes more.  Then I hit a speed bump!

For some unknown reason my foot started to hurt, I thought nothing of it at first and continued to go at my normal pace.  However after two weeks of this, I decided it was time to do something about it.  I spent 3 hours at the acute care center waiting to be seen by a doctor.  A couple of people I talked to, had said it may be a stress fracture, which I may have gotten by running on the treadmill.  After the preliminary x-rays came back, there were no visible fractures and I was sent on my merry way, with the stipulation to stay off it for a few days and then follow up with my doctor. 

Five days on crutches pretty much sucked but I dealt with it and after the torture was over my foot actually did feel better.  I was told that I still had to take it easy and that I had to back off at the gym.  So far I hadn’t been in a week and it didn’t look like I’d be able to go back for a little while longer.  I was told that I had to hold off for another week, then I could go back but the only cardio I could do was the recumbent bicycle and not for very long.  For someone who is usually on the elliptical for 45 minutes, this was a major blow to my routine.  I couldn’t do half the weights I normally did because they would affect my foot. 

I tried to go back to the gym and stick to the bike, which got boring in ten minutes!  However after a few days on the recumbent like I was supposed to, I started working my way back to the elliptical.  First I did the regular bike for 10 minutes a couple of days and finally I tried, for only ten minutes, the elliptical, I felt fine so did it for 10 minutes the next.  Things were looking up, time for my follow up appointment.

I had to go back for a follow up at one month.  When my doctor started pushing on the bottom of my foot, it hurt more than it had the first time I was there!  She suggested that I go get it x-rayed again just to make sure it hadn’t really been a stress fracture that didn’t show up right away.  My hopes of being cleared back to the gym were dashed!  I went for the x-ray a few days later.  The day after the x-ray I was told that there still were no fractures, but it was now known what was wrong!  I have arthritis in the first joint of my left foot. 

So with not much that they can do for the arthritis, except take some ibuprofen or the like, I am able to resume everything I was doing before it started hurting.  A friend said to me that I would have to take it easy and not dance so hard when I go line dancing, another passion of mine; I told him that was not the case.  I can dance as hard as I want to, I just can’t complain anymore when my foot hurts! 

So today is my first day going back to the gym to resume a normal workout routine!  It’s coming at a good time too; I have decided that I am going to do a bike-a-thon this summer!  I will start training at the gym by getting myself back to where I was almost 2 months ago and then I will start riding my bike and see how far I can go.  I have some choices on mileage for the bike-a-thon so I will have to see what I can do and how far I think I can go!  All in all it looks like it could be an interesting summer!  I can’t wait!

2 Responses to "Time To Get Moving… Again!"

I read this yesterday and got inturupted by my guest just when I was going to comment! I am glad you will be able to get up to speed. I too am going to focus on more fitness this summer! Go both of us!

Thanks Wendi!

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that things work out like I’d like them to! There could be an interesting benefit for me if I do it!!

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,306 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
