Random Ramblings

The Sky Was On Fire!

Posted on: May 27, 2008

 

It was one of the most unbelievable sunsets I have seen and there it was unfolding before me and I had my camera!  How lucky was that?  Usually if I see something cool, I don’t have my camera with me.  Let me tell you, there are no sunsets like that where I come from, Chicago, you just don’t see the sky on fire like this.  It was amazing. 

I’m still not sure why I waited until the last night of our vacation to capture this amazing artwork.  If I had done it earlier in the week I probably would have filled up an entire card with sunset pictures.  Not only did it look beautiful setting between the peaks of mountains but the colorful glow it cast on the mountains that were behind me was stunning.  It had been a while since I watched a sunset, I mean really watched a sunset.  I had forgotten not only how simple a process it was, but how gorgeous it really was if you really looked.  It was almost better than seeing a rainbow after a rainstorm.  The colors were so vibrant that you just wanted to reach out and grab them, bottle them up and keep it for a rainy day. 

This sunset made it well worth it to walk that half a mile home from where my husband dropped me off.  He was tired and I didn’t want to leave without getting some pictures of a sunset.  I told him he could go back to the condo and relax while I stayed to watch what I thought would be a good show, little did I know it would be so spectacular.  I would have liked him to stay and share it with me but I knew he needed his sleep as he was driving the six hours that next day to Estes Park. 

As I kept watching for what seemed like forever (I didn’t want it to end) I kept thinking that the sky couldn’t get any more beautiful as the minutes passed.  I was wrong every time, the colors came out and colored the sky, the clouds and the mountains with such glory.  I felt like I was the only one there who was catching this wonderful event and it made me smile.  Sunsets here aren’t as glamorous as they are in Colorado however they can be if you watch one with someone you love, or your best friends.  They can be a very special thing.

When was the last time you watched the sunset?  Really watched it?

6 Responses to "The Sky Was On Fire!"

This morning I woke up at 4 am, (trust me it was a total accident!) and I looked out the window and saw the moon. It was full and gorgeous. I noticed how it reflected in the pond beneath my window. I realized that it had been a long time since I had really paid attention to the moon. Like your beautiful sunset, it seemed as if the moment was just for me, God’s little gift for the early hour. I have not watched the sunset in a while. Thanks for the reminder to take time and notice the beauty around us.

Karen,

Thanks for stopping by! That must have been a beautiful picture you saw! I do like watching the moon, a sunrise is nice too, but I am not an early bird to catch them that often!

Have a great day!

Wow! Great Photo. Thought it was infront of a shopping mall or a motel but when looked closely saw the houses. Beautiful place and beautiful ‘work of art’. Look at the contrast between dark clouds and red linings.

@Pradipta – Thank you so much for your kind words and stopping by! I hope you get a chance to ramble through the site!!

Sunrise, fresh dew covers over all.
Still and calm, beginning of a new day.
Sun rises against the shades of my life.
And I know, warm soil beneath snow,
passion burning yet.
Fire read against gray sky.
Refreshed,Renewed,
I stand startled by the beauty of it all.

Jenny! What a beautiful post to find this morning. I loved every word. Sunrises are unfolding miracles
for the day.
Hugs,
Ms. O
PS I love your blog. Keep the words flowing!

Ms. O – Thank you so much for your beautiful words as well. I can imagine seeing what you described!

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,307 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
