Random Ramblings

It Is My Life

Posted on: June 24, 2008

It’s my life
And it’s now or never
‘Cause I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just want to live while I’m alive

Lyrics to Bon Jovi’s song, It’s My Life

When this song first came out, I was not a fan of it, mostly because I never knew the words and could only hear it when Radio Disney came in on my radio in my 1981 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale!  Not a good introduction to the song if you ask me.  However over Memorial Day weekend 2003 some friends and I went to hear a Bon Jovi Tribute band called Slippery When Wet at a bar south of Schaumburg.  Needless to say, they were awesome and I immediately fell in love with the band and this song.  Of course I came home and went searching on the internet to download it, I liked it so much.  It wouldn’t begin to mean so much to me until much later. 

It’s kind of funny how you go through stages of liking, or not liking, a particular song.  There have been several songs that I have started out absolutely hating and usually end up either absolutely loving it, or being able to tolerate it on a semi-regular basis.  This song is one of them, I didn’t have much use for it until the live version I heard.  After that I really liked the song for itself.  Eventually something happened and the message of the song finally jumped out at me and of course now it’s becoming a post for me!

How true are the words in the chorus?  Have you taken the time to let them sink in so that you can find your own personal meaning in them?  It is your LIFE, it is NOW or NEVER, you are not going to LIVE FOREVER,  and you SHOULD live while you are alive!  It may not always be apparent to each of us, but we are in control of our lives, especially how we react to what is going on in our life!  I am just starting to understand this concept and the more I hear the song, the more it is getting pounded into my brain!!  How I react to things is completely under my own control, it is also up to me to figure out what to do with what happens and how to learn from it.  All of a sudden I am energized to be experiencing this kind of knowledge.  It really is a simple idea and can be done very easily.  The problem is that we sabotage ourselves with roadblocks.  We keep telling ourselves that everything is so much more difficult than it really is.  Nothing is as hard as it seems, especially if you have the will to persevere!

The second half of the chorus is pretty meaningful and insightful too.  You only get this life, that’s it, no second take, there is no stunt double, we are not cats, THIS IS IT!  Frank Sinatra sang that he did it his way, Bon Jovi agrees with him.  If you follow your heart and listen to it, you usually end up making the right decision and there is no downfall to doing it your way.  You can get the advice and suggestions from as many people as you want, as you think you need.  In the end it has to come from you, in your own way and in your own time! 

Recently I have been having epiphany after epiphany and let me tell you, they have opened my eyes to so many things that were right in front of me but I couldn’t see because I was looking too hard.  I am starting to realize that at 30 years old, I have my entire life ahead of me and if I want certain goals and dreams to come to fruition, then I need to take control of my actions and be held responsible for the things that I do.  It’s taken me a long time to get here and I’m sure there are a lot more lessons in life that I need to and will learn along the way, but they are looking a lot less scary now!  All I really have to do is believe that I can and that in turn will help me do it!  At the risk of sounding a little too cliche’, today is the first day of the rest of my life!  Carpe Diem!

7 Responses to "It Is My Life"

Hello there! I’m just a few years older than you but I had the exact same thing happen around the time I turned 30 (okay, maybe it was more like 31). Suddenly, things started coming into focus and I realized that nobody was going to have a greater impact on my life than me. It sounds like you’re stepping onto an exciting path and I wish you the best of luck 😉

Thanks for stopping by Melissa! I hope it’s exciting and I hope I keep on learning!

You hit the nail on the head with this one: “How I react to things is completely under my own control, it is also up to me to figure out what to do with what happens and how to learn from it.”

All this also hit me around the age of 30-31. That must be the age. 🙂

We can blame others or circumstances for our unhappiness or we can be happy. It’s all up to us.

I love reading your enthusiasm. Go for it all with gusto!

Jennifer~

I’m glad that I am not alone! It’s nice to experience something and have others say they had the same or similar thing happen to them too! I’m glad you think I am enthusiastic!

thanks for stopping by! Hope to see you again!

Hi Jenny,

I’m older than you by about, oh well, hmmm. I don’t give out my age! Let me just say I have gone through a few career changes in my life. I have always wanted to integrate my photography and writing into my career though.

That’s funny, you know, and so true. I used to hate Bon Jovi! Now I like some of their stuff. Like what is that song, “I’m a Cowboy?”

I’m happy for you and your ephiphanies. That is cool. It seems as though we go through a period of growth, bump up against a wall, and then start growing again. That’s been my experience anyway.

Ellen

Ellen,

I think the song you are thinking of is called “Wanted Dead or Alive” It’s a pretty good song!

Hopefully the walls are far and few between, I bruise easily enough as it is!

thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,306 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
