Random Ramblings

Please Remember Me

Posted on: October 28, 2008

“You’ll find better love
Strong as it ever was
Deep as the river runs
Warm as the morning sun
But please remember me.”

Lyrics from Tim McGraw’s song Please Remember Me

Is it so much for one person to ask that he or she has made such an impact on people’s lives to not be forgotten?  Is it?  I obviously don’t think it is too much to ask, but how often does it happen.  How often do we take things for granted and not tell people how much they mean to us?  How often do people not get told what they mean to others and never find out?   Why do people wait until it’s too late to do things?  I’ve said numerous times that life is short, it’s inevitable that people will be on this earth for too short a time, however what about those people whom are forgotten about.  What about them?

All most people want is a simple acknowledgement that they exist to the outside world.  It’s not too much to ask, yet it sometimes feels as though people these days barely have time for themselves, let alone their friends and loved ones.  It not selfishness that is causing it, its just life these days, however it needs to be remembered that everyone counts, all the time.  It is immensely helpful when those of us around can take note of things that are going on and see when things may not be going well for someone.  These days it seems easier and easier to feel invisible, especially for me.  People go on about their busy lives and time just keeps slipping away. 

“Remember me when you’re out walking.
When snow falls high outside your door.
Late at night when you’re not sleeping,
And moonlight falls across your floor…
And I can’t hurt you anymore.”

I can only hope that I have touched people’s lives in a way that if I was gone, they wouldn’t forget about me.  A friend once said to me, and I’m not sure they meant it in a bad way or to be hurtful, but they said “If you were gone, we’d be sad for a while, but we’d get over it and on with our lives.”  I know people don’t say things to hurt me, but I can tell you that the one comment cut way down deep inside my soul.  If I were to leave this world today, I don’t know what people would remember, or if they would just forget about me.  Would I leave any kind of lasting impression?  I only hope that somehow, in some way I have done something to get one little memory to stick out in the memories of people I have come in contact with.

Where do you go from here
This can’t last a whole year
I don’t know what to do
The feeling isn’t at all new
I’m no where near being old
I can’t feel the harsh cold
What if I was to be gone
What would be my song
I can’t tell how I hate the feeling
I wish I could start the healing
How I so need my friends
Before someone says, The End.
4 Responses to "Please Remember Me"

You will NEVER be forgotten. That you can stop worrying about!

Anyone who says they’d forget you isn’t worth your time. We will remember you Jenny. I guarantee it.

-Brett

@Wendi & Brett – Thank you both for your kind words. Heaven knows how much I need them right now. I will always keep you in my heart, no matter what happens.

Jenny, you will not be forgotten. And you’re right, people should not be forgotten. And, it’s important that we let people know what they mean to us – you never know when they might no longer be around.

So, Jenny, know that you mean very much to me. Your kind words touch me deeply, and are the reason I come back here again and again. You write from the heart, and it draws me in. Continue to be “you” – I’ll continue to remember always…

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to comment on posts & Come back and visit often!

Blog Stats

  • 4,306 hits

Early Rambles

Enter your email address:Delivered by FeedBurner

Ajax CommentLuv Enabled 1ad6c73fa09961e471652b80071171eb
